Welcome to the Neurology and Neurosurgery Interest Group

Established in 2010, the Neurology and Neurosurgery Interest Group (NANSIG) allows medical students and junior doctors to gain relevant insight and experience in Neurology and Neurosurgery.

We manage over 700 members nationally, providing educational material, mentoring facilities and seminars which facilitate student career development including our annual careers day which attracts in excess of 100 delegates.

We also work with university societies across the country through our national network of university representatives.

As the largest group of its kind, we are proud to work in partnership with the Society of British Neurosurgeons and the Association of British Neurologists

2019-2020 Committee Applications

2019-2020 Committee applications are now open! If you wish to apply, please submit a maximum 250 word statement stating your suitability for the role along with a maximum 3 page CV to the email: nansiggroup@gmail.com. Please put your name and role you apply for in the subject heading. You can apply for a maximum of 2 roles and applications will close on 31st December 2019 at 11 pm. Please note that NANSIG reps can apply for the main committee however they will have to relinquish their current role if successful. Best of luck! 

For a full description of all the committee roles, please click on this link

2018-2019 Committee

Neurosurgery Chair Georgios Solomou

Neurosurgery Vice-Chair Danyal Khan

Neurology Chair Ben Schroeder

Neurology Vice-Chair Alice O’Donnell

Finance Lead Soham Bandyopadhyay

Website Lead Vikesh Patel

Network Lead Adithya Varma

Research Lead Ali Gharooni

Events Lead Igor Maleyko

Workshop Lead Melissa Gough

Previous Committees


2019-20 University Reps

University of Aberdeen – I. Georgiou

Barts and The London G. Amirthalingham

University of Birmingham – W. Patel 

Brighton and Sussex Medical School – Vacant

University of Bristol R. Di Traglia

University of Buckingham – Vacant

University of Cambridge – A. Venkatesh

Cardiff University J. Wellington

Cork – Vacant

University College Dublin – R. O’Carroll

University of Dundee – O. Khouli

University of East Anglia – Vacant

University of Edinburgh – R. Borchert

University of Exeter U. Waheed

NUI Galway – B. Gordon

University of Glasgow – S. Al Fadhel

Hull York Medical School – H. Ghazi

Imperial College London – A. Golahmadi

Keele University S. Zaidi

King’s College London – M. Haq

Lancaster University – Vacant

University of Leeds – A. Boyle

University of Leicester – Z. Osman

University of Limerick – S. Goblin

University of Liverpool A. George

University of Manchester C. Lopez

Newcastle University – H. Carr

University of Nottingham – L. McMullan

University of Oxford S. Honeyman

Plymouth University K. Nweze

Queen’s University Belfast M. McLarnon

Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland – S. Murphy

University of Sheffield – E. Bligh

University of Southampton – J. Booker

University of St Andrews Vacant

St George’s, University of London – L. Odeh

Swansea University – M. Ismail

Trinity College Dublin – K. Rodrigues Dos

University College London T. Lim

 Warwick Medical School – A. Tutt

Email nansiggroup@gmail.com if you are interested in applying for any of the vacant university representative posts